#Writing #MusicMonday: Siderea by Jaime Heras

SidereaCoverSqTaking a break from jazz, we get a second album from Jaime Heras (the first was the excellent Life in Bitville in 2013), and I confess to feeling a bit of regret.

Siderea is a wonderful piece of Vangelis– and Tangerine Dream–influenced synth work, the kind of music that used to denote The Future and Life In Space.

Though only three tracks, the album clocks in at just over forty-eight minutes, so it’s more like an electronic symphony than anything else. And a very satisfying one, at that.

As to the regret, I had not realized until just recently that Jaime Heras has stopped making music. He’s still alive and kicking, but apparently got too little return on his investment of time in making his usually-excellent works. And I feel a bit bad for not pushing his work more. Not that my promotion would have made much difference to his livelihood (or any difference at all, really), but since I only featured the one album while he was still producing new work, it feels like I might have done more.

(My only excuses are that he didn’t release under Free Culture licenses, which I focused on those exclusively last year, and that one of his albums didn’t click with me, for reasons mostly unrelated to the music. Well, those two plus I try to cast as wide a net as possible and share as many different artists as possible. But I still could have shared more.)

But back to Siderea. It’s a wonderful piece of work, and I might say it was perfect, but I don’t, for the sole reason that Life In Bitville was just that tiny little bit better. But it is a totally satisfying listening experience, top to bottom. The kind that you might be glad to have the FLAC files, so that you can make an actual CD of it.

Download Siderea free from the Internet Archive.


Creative Commons License
Siderea by Jaime Heras is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

