#Writing #MusicMonday: Inner Mechanics by Peter Rudenko

Cover_2x_1_original[This is the last of my catch-up posts, and was intended to have been posted Monday, February 8th. It counts as my Valentine’s Day album this year, and yes it is late. There will be another post later today or tomorrow for this week’s album, and then I’ll be all caught up.]

Peter Rudenko is an extraordinary talent. All of his work is original, and all of it is just him on a piano, but it never feels like it needs more than that. (He does multitrack his recording to achieve his lush effects, but I don’t count that as a bad thing. Not at all.)

All you need do is listen to the very first track, “Peace Within”, to hear everything I love about him. Emotional, with overlapping complexities and a reserve that isn’t cold, but rather a bulwark against a greater flood of emotion.

If you like that, you need to listen to everything he’s released, all of it.

If you don’t… well, I don’t know what to say. We’ve got seriously different tastes, I guess. šŸ™‚

Another thing about Rudenko that I admire is his very serious commitment to free culture. Everything he has released is under a Creative Commons Attribution license. Somehow, this hasn’t gotten him the notice that it’s brought to other composers yet, but it has gotten him a couple of IMDb credits, at the very least.

Download Inner Mechanics free from the Free Music Archive.


Creative Commons License
Inner Mechanics by Peter Rudenko is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

