#Writing #Music Monday: Kuddelmuddel by Jahzzar

Kuddelmuddel CoverSometimes it seems to me that I make Music Mondays all about Javier Suarez. Other times, I spend a fair length of time looking at other musicians’ work, and come back and find he’s released three or four solid albums when I was distracted.

With Kuddelmuddel, his first release of 2015 (and not his most recent, even at this writing!), he returned to the happy synth universe of previous Writing Music Monday album Wake Up, and that can be no bad thing.

Kuddelmuddel is rich, layered, complex, contemplative, and happy. All things which our culture, especially our musical culture, cannot possibly have enough of.

Jahzzar himself writes of it:

Influences… Lykke Li, CHVRCHES, Crystal Castles, Electric Youth, Zola Jesus, Hundred Waters, Jessie Ware, Chairlift, The Chromatics, Metronomy… A little bit of Dum Dum Girls, Todd Terje, Liars, Wild Nothing, Beach House or Daft Punk’s “Discovery”. It may contain traces of OMD, New Order and Grauzone.

I cannot add much in this description that can not be seen from influences.

Which means there is a whole list of artists I should probably look into, since I only know New Order and have heard of Daft Punk. However, I feel sure I’ll end up preferring Jahzzar to most of his influences. That seems to be the way it works most of the time.

Download Kuddelmuddel free from Jamendo in MP3 format, or pay what you like and get it from Bandcamp in almost any format you could want.


Creative Commons License
Kuddelmuddel by Jahzzar is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://betterwithmusic.com/contact/.

