Writing Music Monday: Aida by Giuseppe Verdi

Verdi conducting
Verdi conducts Aida in Paris.
Adrien Marie, 1881.
Because sometimes you’ve just got to write to opera.

No.

I’m being serious.

Sometimes you have to do that.

Really.

And, lucky you, there is a site that has the vast bulk of Verdi’s operas available in MP3 format for free under a Creative Commons license. The recordings are generally from the 1950s, so they’re not super-high tech with surround sound. But seriously, who needs that? All you need is the music, the beauty, the epic emotion. And you get that in spades.

In truth, the only opera I ever listen to is Verdi. And while I count Aida as my favorite, I don’t know the story of it. I just listen and let the music and emotion flow through me.

A the Italian site Liber Liber, you can download most (perhaps all) of Verdi’s work (including the Requiem), but first (and to my mind foremost) are two different recordings of Aida. You want them. If you only get one, my favorite is the first one listed, the RAI recording. Download the entire thing. Maybe both versions. If you’re a nut like me, download everything and spend days wallowing in Verdi.

There are worse ways to spend your time.


Aida by Verdi is in the public domain. The recordings offered by the site Liber Liber are made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Generic license. (CC BY-NC-SA 2.5)

